The 10 Quotes That Keep Me Afloat

Reading back over my journal of the past few months, I noticed that I’ve leaned on several ‘quotes’ repeatedly throughout this experience. Perhaps to help make sense of, and provide comfort in the more onerous parts of the journey.

I’d like to share some of them here. But ask that they not be taken out of context. Love or hate Quotes, few would argue against the edifying power of moving words, when used as Chapter headings to a human experience.

In no particular order…

‘”this too shall pass…” Persian Proverb. (A keystone adage to finding peace and calm in any turbulent predicament)

this too shall pass

Fairy tales are more than true – not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten” G.K Chesterton (My response to the diagnosis, and experience in general)

Fairytales

For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind and to melt into the sun?” Khalil Gibran, The Prophet. (On finding comfort in the most onerous thought of them all)

The silence isn’t so bad, until I look at my hands and feel sad, ’cause the spaces between my fingers are right where yours fit perfectly” lyric from Vanilla Twilight, Owl City. (On missing my daughter)

The days are never too far gone to see the one day come” My own thought to help stay anchored to the hope of Remission.

Love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation” Khalil Gibran. (On missing my wife)

60435_434060985063_507185063_5470693_1965428_n

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food”  Hippocrates, and part of The Hippocratic oath all allopathic Doctors have to take. (On getting smart about my future health).

The heart’s memory eliminates the bad and magnifies the good, and…thanks to this artifice we manage to endure our burdens” Gabriel Garcia Marquez (On holding on to the Light during the Dark)

IMG_4189

One thing I’ve learned; Time becomes priceless real-estate when faced with such a cruel protagonist, and renting someone elses opinion is pointless. With my family beside me, we’re developing for the long-term” My own thoughts against the discouraging Time predictions handed down to me by my Consultant.

At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us” Albert Schweitzer. (On the all people who came so graciously and generously to our support.)

Screen shot 2011-04-11 at 7.28.38 PM

Peace and Calm

Leave a Reply

